Reviewers praise resident Sacconi Quartet at Lichfield Festival

Tagged artists

Sacconi Quartet

Share this story

The Sacconi Quartet were the Artists in Residence at the 2015 Lichfield Festival, which took place from 3 – 12 July. As an annual event based around Lichfield Cathedral, the festival provides a summer celebration of classical music, dance, drama, film, literature and more.

As Artists in Residence, the Sacconi Quartet performed five separate programmes as well participating in an education project at local schools.

Concerts included a performance of Elvis Costello’s The Juliet Letters with folk singer Jon Boden; a Nordic programme celebrating 150 years of Sibelius and Nielsen; an afternoon performance of string quartets, and an interactive performance of Beethoven’s String Quartet in A minor, Op. 132 as part of HEARTFELTlichfield


Their performances have garnered some fantastic reviews:

The Guardian (on their Sibelius / Nielsen performance)

“…it was in Sibelius’s Intimate Voices quartet that the Sacconis really impressed. The calm stillness of the central adagio will linger in the memory for a long time. …a triumphant performance.”

The Arts Desk (on The Juliet Letters with Jon Boden)

“The Sacconis responded with a rich palette of instrumental colour, and the sort of emotional commitment they keep for Shostakovich. It worked… and the encore, when Boden and the quartet persuaded a drowsy pre-midnight audience to sing along to Costello’s The Scarlet Tide, was pretty much the definition of a festival moment.”

Tamworth Herald (on their HEARTFELT performance)

“It was the most unique performance I have ever experienced.”
“The music itself was flawless and Heartfelt is a show which I will never forget.”

Richard Bratby, blogger and Birmingham Post journalist (on The Juliet Letters)

“Boden and the Sacconis played off each other, seeming to find a shared intensity… making tone-colour match curdling harmonies, and transforming I Thought I’d Write To Juliet into a miniature music-drama. …this was chamber music of a high order.”

Sacconi Quartet

More news