Peter Donohoe releases new disc of Shostakovich Preludes and Fugues

Tagged artists

Peter Donohoe

Share this story

Peter Donohoe has released a new disc of Shostakovich’s 24 PreludesShos preludes and fugues cover and Fugues, Op. 87, to mark the start of a new Shostakovich series with Signum Records.

The disc has already received high acclaim from The Guardian, who call the disc “thoughtful and poignant… Donohoe’s directness brings dignity and power.”

All 24 of the preludes and fugues were composed within several months, and the complete work is one of several examples of music written in all of the major and minor keys.



Peter Donohoe

More news